Hi
February 7

2017 A New Year Begins

 

Greetings to all our new families for this, the beginning of the school year. Welcome to our blog too, we hope you find it useful to keep in touch with what is happening in our class and to provide people with supportive and thoughtful feedback.

 

There’ll be lots of routines and procedures to learn.  It’s early days we’ll get there.

How exciting to be starting in the primary, year three is going to be so much fun indeed. I will catch up with parents and caregivers at acquaintance night next week to clarify  a lot of things. Hope to see you there.

Collaboration

Our class has a mantra

“We work together, we think together, we act together. We collaborate”

This term we will be practicing collaboration and what this may look like, sound like, feel like and think like.

Today we stared by working in pairs on a maths task.

The task was  – To collect 3 digit numbers, sort them and publish our thinking.

Now while we were using our mathematical logic smarts, we were also practicing our skills in working together. Check us out.

For our first go, I reckon we have a positive start and I particularly liked the way they all respectfully shared their information.

I was also impressed by the variety of ways to sort information. Take a look at their posters.

Some things to think about, let us know your comments.

How do you feel about year three?

What are you looking forward to?

What might have you worried?

How do yo feel about working in teams?

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Posted February 7, 2017 by elleneisenkolb15 in category Maths/Numeracy, Team work

84 thoughts on “2017 A New Year Begins

  1. Cleo

    Dear Phoebe,

    I have had a great time working on your table the past few weeks!!!! We have been using team work and I think that is very good! We have been friends for so long and you are my #1 BFF!!!!! I am really excited and looking forward to the 8th of July! (play date) 😀

    Love from Cleo
    P.S at the play date we are going to have the best time of our lives!!

    Reply
  2. Cleo

    Dear Sabitri,

    Thank you for being such a good friend to me and also thank you for always sticking up for me when I am sad you are a very helpful friend to have! You have been my friend since the day I met you!!😀😀😝😝

    Love from Cleo.

    Reply
  3. Cleo

    Dear Ellen,

    I am really looking forward to camp I wish we could go there for a month but I parents could come but no we are not we are only going for three days and two nights. I think we will have a great time because I have heard from your opinion and other people’s opinion. I also hope that the water in the Murray River so that the boat can go across and we go in the caves!! I have been waiting for camp, for like forever!!

    Kind Regards
    Cleo

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Cleo,
      I too am quite excited to be going on camp. True it would be good to go for longer but perhaps when you are older. we’ll miss too much school. Besides I am looking forward to your oral presentations. how are they coming? Come and show me the astronauts name and I will help you. hey I hope it doesn’t rain touch at camp.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
      1. Cleo

        Greetings Ellen

        I have finished my Oral Presentation I just have to memories a few more bits and then I will be all good. I have written all of the names down on a piece of paper. I know some of them and I have been practising the ones that I don’t know with my dad. I hope I do a really great Oral Presentation. I hope you feel better soon!

        Love from Cleo. See you when you are back at school.

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Howdy Cleo,
          I am feeling a lot better thanks for asking. Good to know you are all prepared for Monday. We’ll probably have to start after recess so we can get spling out of the way. Looking forward to learning heaps of facts are you?
          See you Monday
          Cheers Ellen

          Reply
  4. Sabitri

    Ti Kanis Ellen!

    I am really excited to watch Matilda but miss Trunchbull is so rude, bossy and mean I wonder if she is different in the movie I haven’t seen it yet. I also think I am really good at my maths I know all my times
    tables up to twelve.

    FROM SABITRI!!!!

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hola Sabitri,
      I am quite keen to watch it too. It has been many years since I’ve seen it. I agree Miss Trunchbull is a nasty pasty indeed. I do hope we finish it this coming week or at least if the PRC left overs help out. I think it is amazing that despite all the nasty things Matilda’s parents do as he is still a very nice person. I am going to see Matilda the Musical when it comes to Adelaide. I’ve heard they do a great job bringing the book too life in song. I think that would be very entertaining. Can you imagine having to eat all that chocolate cake like Bruce Bogtrotter? Yuck! Oh well have a glorious day it will rain today so get outside and have fun.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  5. Natalie Howard

    Dear Margo,
    I think you are a great friend and I am really happy you have made some new and nice friends. Have you got a favorite learning team? and do you know about Lara like I mean what she has been doing? I am happy you like Rm14 and do you have a favorite thing to do at school?
    warm wishes
    Natalie

    Reply
  6. Natalie Howard

    Thank you Cleo,
    that would be funny and I was wondering what kind of pecent are you on and I might give you a few tips on how to fly your hero up alot higher. I was also wondering if you went on a holiday in the school holidays? I hope you can get your certifcate soon
    From Natalie Howard

    Reply
  7. Cleo

    Dear Natalie,

    You are a super reader well done you are already on beyond keep reading and you will get 1000 and you would get a lot of certificates and Ellen would just be like Natalie Howard over and over again it would be really funny.

    From Cleo

    Reply
  8. Sabitri

    Dear Ellen,

    I LOVE that you think I’m really organised, my dad was very proud and so was I. My dad was really proud of my neat work and I hope you were to. I was wondering if you were going to let the class watch the movie Matilda. I’ve seen it I really liked it.

    From Sabitri

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Sabaydy Sabitri,
      I thought you spoke very confidently at interview and I was really proud of you. So that makes two of us, I suppose you would be too, so that makes three. Did you share the same things with Mum? Yes I thought we could watch it in the last week of term. But we have to finish the book first! I suppose we’ll have o work quickly don’t you think?
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  9. Margo

    Bonjour Ellen!
    I Enjoy playing flip because it helps with are number faces. Ellen did you make up the game flip or did someone give you a idea. I love you having us as a teacher because you make up verey good games. And my mum likes you a lot to. But l don’t know why. Maybe because you teach us a lot of things.

    From Margo

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hi Margo,
      Thanks for your great feedback]. I’m glad your facts are improving. The more you play the faster you get. Have you tried making 8 yet? Do you know you can learn your multiplication too.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  10. Anonymous

    Yakshimash phoebe I just wanted to ask what is your musicly name, because I really want to know🤔 and i keep on asking you and asking you and asking you so if you could just go on the blog and possibly post a message thanks💋🖒

    Reply
  11. Cleo

    Dear Sarah and Margo,
    You have made my days awesome days. Thank You for being very kind and being nice to me. You have been a great friend!
    From Cleo

    Reply
  12. Cleo

    Dear Sophie,
    I have seen you are working really well and even if something is hard you don’t stop you just keep on persisting. Well Done! Keep it up.
    From Cleo

    Reply
  13. Cleo

    Dear Sabitri,
    I think you are working super well this year! Well Done. I have also seen you have been going up on the chart you have been so close to Outstanding Choices I have seen you are always on Great Choices. You are a very good friend of mine!
    from Cleo

    Reply
  14. Sabitri

    Hi Ellen

    I am going to give you a big surprise on your birthday 🍬 Just you wait why am I telling you opps! anyway know that you know I guess you would be REALLY excited. 😊

    Warm Wishes Sabitri

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Aloha Sabitri,
      Now I am very curious, you almost gave away your surprise. I guess I have to wait until school comes back. You guys are fortunate to have a holiday on Tuesday, I have to go to a mother school, but I think there will be interesting things for me to learn. Then I get to spend my one hundred and twentieth birthday with my favourite little people. What fun.
      Enjoy your weekend keep practicing those facts you little maths wiz you.
      Warm wishes Ellen

      Reply
  15. Natalie Howard

    Aloha Sarah,
    I really think you are working hard. I also think you are a great friend. Well done I am also impressed with your writing I think it is outstanding. I really hope we can sit at the same learning team one day? I also was wondering what you have done in the holidays? How are you? And your family? I did some cool stuff in the holidays if you want to know? I went on a seven month holiday. I hope you reply soon
    From Natalie

    Reply
  16. Anonymous

    Ciao Ellen
    How are you, I think you asked me how I feel like in year three. Well i feel very grown up and I also feel very very confident.
    From Montana.

    Reply
  17. Margo

    G’day Ellen!
    I enjoy the class blog! How did you do it? I also enjoy morning maths because it helps our number facts to 10! I’m also wanting to do more + – and multiplication because I’m not so good at it. A few days ago I got up to 35! Hopefully in will get into my 40s! All the best wishers for 2017! Thanks Margo.

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Alejandro,
      What was it about the place value that you particularly liked? How do you feel about your knowledge of big numbers? What do you think is easy or hard?
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  18. Jett

    Dear Ellen Hi I loved the place vale game did you like it to my mum checkout the blog and she likes it alot from Jett

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Jett,
      I had to read your message a couple of times and then I realised you forgot some punctuation. After I figured where to put the full stops it made a lot more sense. I am glad you enjoyed the place value game it is fun. How are your facts to ten going? Why don’t you encourage your mum to leave a message too.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  19. Anonymous

    Dear Ellen it is really awesome being in your class year three. When I first started year three year three I felt very nervous.I am looking forward four doing us traded in the jars. But I am scared four nap plan.Scarlett

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Scarlett,
      Yes coming into year three can be scary but you did well to hide your nervous side I thought you were pretty in control. Trapped in the snow domes is a great Christmas activity so when we get to that time of year remind me to do it, I may just forget, us old people forget sometimes. Now NapLan is nothing to worry about at all, you just do what you would always do… Your best. We will practice some old tests before o we know what they look like, piece of cake really. Don’t worry. Trust me.
      warm wishes Ellen

      Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Dear Thomas,
      It was a fun game. I really love the expression on your face it is just gorgeous. It sums up a lot. Now we have to find ways for you to rematch and be victorious. What strategies might help you? Do you go first all the time? why not ask her what she is thinking about when she places her cards that way you might copy that strategy and see if it works for you.
      All the best
      Ellen

      Reply
  20. Sabitri

    Hi Lucy
    You seem to love ❤️ the blog I do to. So what is your favourite thing to do I like spelling and blue box reading 📖 but we don’t do it that often now.😋😍🤑

    Reply
  21. Anonymous

    Dear Ellen its Montana, i don’t know if you seen but i changed my class dojo charecter!I hope you like it, and by the way speaking of class dojo think i’m going to go on it after this message well it’s time for me to say bye. From Montana!

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hi Montana,
      I must say that I haven’t realised any changes with the dojo characters. They all look the same to me and because there are so many I can’t keep track. I prefer your lovely faces anyway. I have got you a new test book to replace the lost one. I wonder if it will turn up somewhere? There is a book called The Borrowers, have you read it? I wonder if it was one of them? How do you like commenting on the blog?
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  22. Anonymous

    hello Ellen it’s me again Montana so you wanted me to answer your question,well i like being in year three because it is fun! also feel very grown up from Montana

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hi again too,
      You’ve remembered more things. So why do you feel all grown up? What is it that you do that makes you feel older? I think you are very much in control. How did you enjoy learning chess today?
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  23. Anonymous

    hi ellen it’s Montana i think the card game was amazing, i loved it [and by the way can’t believe i won so many time’s against Dylan.He only won 1 time ha ha ha by Montana

    Reply
  24. Cleo

    Hello Ellen,
    I am glad that you are liking the class as well. On Saturday I did my I did my state qualifying but I didnt get into anything. Today I might be going to the fringe and going to see what is in the kids spot.
    Cheers Cleo

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Guten Tag Cleo,
      I am intrigued, you went for state titles in which field? You must be good to even attempt trying out, Congratulations on that I didn’t know you were a star…..something. I went into the city today for some family errands and saw lots of people walking about. I think there were lots of families going in today. I hope you found something enjoyable there seems to be things everywhere. Unfortunately we aren’t organised for such things.Does your family attend many arts events? What would be your favourite type of outing?
      Warm regards Ellen

      Reply
  25. Cleo

    Ni Haõ Ellen,
    I will try not to forget to miss lines in my sentences so it is more clearer and so that if is not that squishy and so I can fit in some more words! I have loved so far in Grade 3 with you. Are you enjoying the kids/class? I hope we do a lot of fun and challenging stuff because I like having a little bit of fun sometimes and then sometimes I like to challenge myself! I hope you have fun this year! I think I am going to have fun by the sounds of it!
    Regards Cleo.

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Cleo,
      I am just creating a maths post and saw your message. It will take a while to finish so perhaps later tonight you can see it. Yes I am liking this class. I think I am not making to many muddles with names now but Thomas and Blake still confuse me! I am glad you are having fun. While I think it is important that we are serious learners I think we can get there with a little humour don’t you? Don’t mind fun stuff but silly stuff well that just interrupts us. What exciting things are you getting up to this weekend?
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  26. Phoebe

    Hodz vodz ellen
    I love having you as a teacher I love all the fun activities we do!! I particularly love the spelling activities
    Your art is AMAZING and I really want to do some more so can we?? Thank you Phoebe🙈

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hola Phoebe,
      How nice of you to say such things, and I am glad you are enjoying the learning activities. Art is enjoyable indeed and I am sure we will get to do more. What type do you prefer 2D or 3D? I always like having art lessons on Friday so if we can get all our work done that’s a good time.

      I like the way you use the blog too. I think we need to put another post on. What do you think we should share? Let me know.
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
    2. Sabitri

      Ni Haõ Sarah and Cleo

      Thanks for being my friends at School and I hope you would like to be buddys when we go camping next term so can you send a message back if you want to be my buddy at camping because I don’t have any yet 😳 but I hope you can be my buddy’s 😜😋😊

      From Sabitri

      Reply
      1. Cleo

        Dear Sabitri,

        I am happy to be your camping buddy! Because you have been a magnificent friend to me. Thank you for asking me as well. I really want to know who’s class we are going with so that we could maybe buddy up with some of them if they are some of our friends. We would have a very good time anyway! You have been very helpful by helping me. You have been telling me what to do if I had forgotten and you have explained it very well! I really want to be buddy’s when we do the treasure map thing for HaSS.

        Kind Regards Cleo.

        Reply
  27. Margo

    Labadiena Ellen,l really like haveing you as my teacher at grange primary school. l really like year 3 because we get to bring are iPads to school. And l also like year 3 because we do losts of hard things and fun things.

    Thank you Margo

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Margo,
      Thank you for your kind words that was very thoughtful. I’m glad you are enjoying year three. It must be strange for you as you have come fro another school. I can see you have made a few friends that is great. They will help you settle in. Yes I think once we get things arranged we will start using the iPads. I will certainly keep giving you challenging things to do and I’m sure they will be fun.
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Sabitri,
      Thank you for your kind comments. I’m glad you are enjoying the literacy activities. I think you have very strong word smart skills and it is good to see you want to make them stronger. I trust you enjoyed your weekend. What things did you and your family get up to? My poor mother had a Terrible toothache, so I had to take her to the dentist. Her tooth was so bad the dentist had to pull it out…ouch! I’ve been busy writing the newsletter. You should show your family. See you at school.
      cheers Ellen

      Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Lucy,
      Are you tired of year three already? I think the year four teachers may want you to do a little more work before you move in don’t you? How about you dazzle me with brilliance first.
      Warm regards Ellen

      Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Hello Lucy,
          I am glad you are not, I thought you were kidding. To be honest I don’t look at emojis that closely so I did indeed miss it. Perhaps I do need to pay closer attention. But I am a hundred no twenty or so so please forgive me. Enjoy the weekend.
          Warm wishes Ellen 🤔

          Reply
  28. Cleo

    Hi Ellen I love what things you do in the class. I really wanted to be in your class so I am very happy. Do you like space? Because I do and I want to learn about space during the year if we could please! I think you are a very good teacher because all the things that you do I really like. I am loving the class!
    Kind regards Cleo

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Cleo,
      I am happy to hear you are feeling good about things so far. I think we have all got off to a great start. I am really pleased that everyone is having a go at working in our learning teams.
      Yes we will do space this year I am not sure when though traditionally I do it in term three but I don’t think that will work this year. We shall see. Now I am happy that they put you in my class too, so we are both happy about the decision. Yes I think we will have a great year. Can you believe we are already getting into week four?
      I’m going to mark your fabulous work now.
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  29. Anonymous

    hi ellen how are you, i have been waiting so long to message you and i finnaly have. also i’m hoping i will bring my spelling book tomorrow. and i really would like to do some art because i love art okay well that’s it for today goodbye ellen.

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello anonymous, I am very well thank you. Did you forget to put your name on this Montana? I hope it is you I got a clue from the spelling book comment. Well of course we do art you had some to do today, anytime we can draw pictures time to get arty. I believe we may do some outstanding book covers Friday.
      Can you wait that long?
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  30. Phoebe

    Dear Ellen
    My grandma (Lala) bought me a Venus fly trap and that is the plant we were talking about the other day! It’s the one that if a fly goes in it, it will disappear I will bring it in tomorrow!! Can we learn more about living things and non living things? Thanks! From Phoebe

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hola Phoebe,
      Wow how great is your grandma. I think it will be okay for you to bring it in for a little while. I do get worried because the traps are meant to be for insects and often people tease the plant by poking it. Those carnivorous plants rely on the insect for food. So if no one pokes it Im sure it will be fine. Has yours caught a bug yet?
      We will certainly be continuing with our topic each week I do hope everyone remembers to complete their project.
      See you tomorrow
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
      1. Phoebe

        Dear Ellen If you want I can put it in a container so no one pokes it? No mine hasn’t cought an insect yet! Are we doing science tomorrow? Sincerely Phoebe

        Reply
      2. Pho

        Dear Ellen
        If you want I could put it in a container so that no one pokes it! I will probably bing it in today!! Are we doing art today?? From Phoebe

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Hi Phoebe,
          Well now that Fang is here, we have to keep it healthy. It is such and interesting plant it fascinates me in the way it does indeed catch things. How are you at catching flies and insects?
          I am going to mark the MI work so I get to check out your art there. Do you think I will be impressed?
          Regards Ellen

          Reply
  31. Cleo

    Thanks Sophie,
    You are the best too!
    What do you like about grade 3 cause I like everything!
    And I like Ellen, she is really good!
    Cleo

    Reply
    1. Phoebe

      Hey cleo you are a great friend! I like Ellen she’s really good! What are you looking forward to this week I’m looking forward to beat up! From Phoebe

      Reply
  32. Phoebe

    Dear Elllen
    I like your art you do I also like science I like lots of other things I just can’t name them all! Can we please do some more of both of them science and art? Thanks Phoebe!

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Phoebe,
      How nice to know that you are a science and art smart girl. Of course you can do the two together any time you have to do art work take a sciece topic and when you have to do a picture use you art skills . Naturally you’ll use you very keen expert observation skills. Di you know that some of the best natural looking art has been completed by scientists. i love the bird and plant drawings. What part of science do you like?
      Warm regards Ellen

      Reply
  33. Ellen

    Dear class,
    I was very impressed by the way you all completed your science covers I am also getting excited about seeing your science projects.
    What topics in science do you want t learn about? I really like space so I think we may just study that.
    sincerely yours Ellen

    Reply
  34. Anonymous

    Hi Ellen could we do some more writing because I think it is great.
    thank you for my pen trial. I hope I get my pen licence soon!

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Cleo,
      Congratulations on your trial, I agree keep using that pen expertly and a license will have your name on it! Mind you hoping is not the same as putting in the effort.
      Well We do have to learn two types of genre before the NaP LAN test so yes we will be getting onto that . I did like you writing today for the reading notes…. see you are writing heaps. Do you have a favourite genre? Can’t wait to read your exciting work.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Rocco, great to read that you are liking grade three. What are you looking forward to?
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Lucy,
      Nice to read a note from you. Now this is not quite like texting, you can write a detailed letter. Here you get to show great literacy and writing skills. So tell me what you like about our blog?
      Warm wishes Ellen

      Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Hello Lucy,
          I’m glad you approve of it. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of thoughtful commenting soon. Your typing skills will strengthen too.
          Cheers Ellen

          Reply
  35. Anonymous

    Dear Ellen I like working in groups because we get to know each other better!!! I like art,science and maths they are really fun!! from PHOEBE!!!!!

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Good afternoon Phoebe,
      Another note from you, you have been busy. I’m glad you enjoy the teams, like groups too. I reckon people help each other more this way. learning can be hard so to have help and reminding is always better. I think together we learn more. Which job do you like best? Regards Ellen

      Reply
  36. Natalie

    dear ellen I agree we should do different things could we do so more science with the pictures and stuff and later next week can we please do some writing. I love when we do read to self. I really hope we can do some more writing

    FROM NATALIE!!!!!!!!

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Natalie,
      You are certainly an excited blogger, we’ll have to get you to help the others next week. Of course we will do some more science, in fact I have a great home science project for you to do, I think you’ll find it interesting.
      I’m sure we’ll do more writing as we get into all our subject areas. It’s been a busy week setting up things and hard when everyone is exhausted because of the heat. Let’s hope next week will be better as we haven’t got fitness into routine yet. It will take time for all the things I have planned. are your parents coming to acquaintance night?
      I’ve just come home from Bootcamp, then I will do my homework! Enjoy your weekend.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  37. Natalie

    Dear Ellen this is Natalie I LOVE when we do art and write you are the perfect teacher for me. could we maybe make some more posters? from Natalie Howard

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Natalie,
      Congratulations, you are the first to comment on the Blog in our class this year, good on you for giving it a go.
      I’m glad you like art, I do too. I think we will do a bit more, although it might not always be posters. I think it’s a good idea to learn to do lots of different things. Perhaps there are some things you have in mind. Let me know.
      I have just finished typing up the poems so I hope we can put the posters and poems on display. I think they’ll look stunning.
      Warm wishes Ellen.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *