Hi
June 9

We are Super Readers in Room 14. Watch us zoom!

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 4.11.31 PM

This year we have been working really hard on developing and improving our reading strategies so that we become stronger and more confident readers of literature.

We all know the 10 most important steps to become an excellent reader.

1 Read, 2 Read, 3 Read, Read, Read

Read, Read, Read, Read, 10 Read

In fact we all know the old poem really well

Read, read, read.

The more you read, 

The more you know,

The more you know ,

The more you grow.

So read, read, read.

Traditional Poem

This poem makes a lot of sense because as you read, you learn more vocab so then you can read more interesting books, which means you learn even more vocab, and then you can read more interesting books, which means you can…and so on. Of course on the way there are other things to focus on too.

Reading isn’t just saying words. Readers need to comprehend the text to understand what they are reading. They need to read accurately. Reading should be smooth and Fluent. Readers should also grow their word knowledge.

We worked out what we thought good readers do and we strive to achieve these strategies

Cafe

Good readers have an inner conversation.

When I’m reading my brain is switched on and ticking over

We know that a good reader uses lots of strategies before they read.

They activate their prior knowledge things they may already know about or have experienced.

Make predictions about what might be going on in the book.

Ask questions

While they are reading, good readers are switched on, they are..

Check the text is making sense, and they understand what’s going on.

They keep making predictions and check if they’re right or not.

Work out tricky / challenging words.

Make connections with ideas and experiences in the text.

After reading

Check how they went. Revaluate their predictions.

Can summarise the text.

la_reading

We have our own super hero and we are flying through our goals. Some of us want to move into higher Reading Recovery box levels and some of us want to fly through our percentage goals in Accelerated reading.

IMG_0499

Some of us are even tripling their percentage score. Wow, what reading dynamos we have here. Either way, we know it will take lots of hard work and effort to become good at anything, especially Reading.

Now where is a good place for you to settle down and read?

Fluency progress

We have been checking how our fluency is going. After our spelling partner tests on Friday mornings we do a fluency test. We have been reading to our team mates for one minute and then counting how many words we have read. We negotiate to take turns to be a reader or a listener. Then we record our scores on a chart. 

We have noticed our scores are changing and we discussed reasons for this. Some have noticed the scores rising each week. These people thought they were practicing lots and that helped. Some noticed the scores were rising and then they were falling, only to begin rising again. Our thoughts were that once we moved levels the vocabulary may become more challenging and as they got used to it they read faster. Clearly fluency improves with practise.

Visualising 

Authors use the most amazing words to write their fabulous stories and when they do we create pictures in our minds eye. This is called visualising and it is a useful strategy to use when you are reading as it helps you to understand what is going on.

9780141322629

I was reading children’s classic, The BFG by Roald Dahl, a wonderful author who uses the English language in such a creative way that he even invents his own language! We have had such fun listening to the exciting adventures of poor Sophie and The BFG as they have to deal with those rotsome filthy giants. We even get to find out what goes on in the royal household.

During an art lesson we had a go at our visualising what we thought these characters would look like, after we had finished the last chapter.

Look at our portraits of swishwiffling whoppsy characters from the BFG

Now we are all very excited because we know that a new motion picture will be released very soon. It will be interesting to see what the creators of that film thought the characters look like. Wonder if we thought the same?

Our preservice teacher Senija helped with our narrative writing skills. She wanted us to write about a dream. In an art lesson we created dream jars to go with our published narrative.

Sweet Dreams

P.S. As of the last Friday of term two we congratulate the readers  for their hard efforts.  Check out the movement of their Super Heroes IMG_0599

So many got to beyond, way to go, you are awesome.

Something to comment on.

How do you think you are going with your reading?

How do you know your reading is improving?

Which strategy are you focusing on ? Why?

Which books or authors do you particularly like to read?

Who reads in your household? What do they read?

Tags: , ,

Posted June 9, 2016 by elleneisenkolb15 in category Arts, Integrated Tasks, Literacy, Team work

78 thoughts on “We are Super Readers in Room 14. Watch us zoom!

  1. Ruby

    Bonjour Lakeisha,
    Thank you for helping me out throughout the year, when you help me I don’t get mixed up with anything. So you helping me is so helpful because I then learn something new. Also I learn from my mistakes so next time I know what to do and don’t get anything wrong. Thank you for being a good friend this year.

    from Ruby

    Reply
  2. Harry

    Hi Ellen
    was your trip good because I am very jules because you went to all of them places.Was the bamboo bridge fun or scary.
    As I told you the other day you look like tiny little ants compared to them giant bolders and that massive tree.was it fun watching them kids learning at their school it must of been scary climbing them letters.
    was it scary when Petter cut his foot.

    from Harry

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Harry,
      My holiday was really good thanks for asking, there were times when things were a little scary but it was the fun kind. It was unfortunate that Peter was injured but thankfully the medicine is helping him recover and I hope he will be able to walk again. I was really amazed by that giant banyan tree which is really great to climb course they wouldn’t let us try it though! Do you like trekking? have been bouldering before?
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  3. hamish

    Hi Fin,
    Thank you for helping me with hard words when I’m reading. I think I have done Well with my reading so fare. I now I’m improving because I read for 1.H. How long do read for?
    From Hamish

    Reply
  4. Ryan

    G’day Harry
    How did you go at you’r mega spelling test? I got a relly bad score but I think good score. I think you got like 39 or 38 but if you got 37 or 36 but that would still be ok but less is bad for me.and a bad next time we do the mega spelling test i hope you will get a better score then this time.

    Reply
  5. harry

    Hi Max
    I am sorry for being mean to you you are my best friend . I’m sorry I tried you in soccer will you be my friend again because that will mean a lot to me because I have no friends because Ty and Riley don’t want be my friends any more and I don’t know why please reply to me.

    from Harry

    Reply
    1. shayla

      G’day Kiara ,
      Thank you for saying I’am a good friend to you. You are a nice girl because you are kind and give people things and thats is what nice people do it is kind. Have you ever had a go in word tennis? I think word tennis is good because you get you brain working really well it makes you think about topics. Do you think it is fun?
      Warm regards Shayla.

      Reply
  6. Nelson

    Hi,wil
    How are you going with your blogging so far? And your reading and are you enjoying your level
    to I wish I was on that level too do you like it? and I like the lion the which wardrobe are you.

    Reply
  7. Bella z

    Hi James
    you are really good at reading my favourite book is road dale what is your favourite book?
    from BellaZ

    Reply
  8. BELLA v

    Dear Ella,
    Do you know a little bit about space?And the reason i say that is because next team we are doing it for since
    cheers bella

    Reply
  9. jack

    Ohlar Ellen
    I am very sory I am witeing small blog comens I’m just not that good at it. what is your fravret book of all time? and your worst book?are you have in a good time blogging I am very happy I got to 4-2 to 6-0 I am just behind maggie I’m so happy from Jack

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Jack,
      I think you are beginning to get the hang of commenting so stop giving yourself put downs it doesn’t work! I have lots of favourite books so that is a hard one of course you heard me read Ferdinand, I also loved the Harry the Dog series too when I was learning to read. Now I read lots of fantasy books and sometimes the series can get quite exciting. I adored Lord of the Rings and the Game of Thrones books but they are for adults. Mm I thought you might like the Harry Potter books if you like magic but they do get a little nasty. You are an avid little book worm. I’m sure the school holidays will be spent with a great book or two.
      Happy escaping into books.
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  10. Kiara

    to Ella
    My mum said that we might have a sleep over in the school holidays you are going to sleep at my house. What are you doing in the school holidays and I am sorry.
    from Kiara

    Reply
  11. Riley

    Dear Hamish,
    You are doing so well that you are on beyond and that is amazing to me. I love to read the big friendly giants but I love the day my but went psycho I love the movie on go channel ninety nine because they have so many kids shows and that is my favourite show but I have way more facts to tell you and that is I usually read on my couch and my bed that is my favourite places to read. I like reading not only those books I like reading Dr Suess’s books like the cat in the hat theres a woket in my pocket and I like David Williams I like his books because there Really funny these are the ones I have read Grandpas great escape billion air boy rat burger gangster grany awful auntie Mr stink and most of all road Dahl fantastic Mr fox and more. do you think I am going to catch up to you or am I not? do you think I am going to get to beyond before the term end or not? Do you love reading? do you hate reading ? so you like reading sport books? or do you like reading history? or spelling? how much time do you spend reading? do you spend more time on technology reading?

    Warm regards Riley

    Reply
  12. Ella

    G.day Jasmine
    You are doing good in your reading keep going you will get to level 20. Maybe you could read more. That might help you move up a level. that is how I moved up a level I read to my Mum

    love Ella.

    Reply
  13. Bella z

    Hola Maggie,
    You have been reading really hard big books.Do you like the books that you have been reading? You are very good at fluency,reading and vocabulary How do you get that good? Also from Bella z

    Reply
  14. Kiara

    Dear Ellen
    I love it when you read to us because you read to us so nice. What books do you like to read because I like to read Roald Dahl books they are so funny to read. happy reading
    fare well Kiara

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Dear Kiara,
      Thank you for your kind thoughts. I’m glad you like my reading. Do you know I love reading aloud and it took lots of years of practice. You can too, just read to your toys or pets or parents and use lots of different voices. It’s so much fun. Why not try it.Take a really easy book that you have learnt all the words and give it ago. Pretend to be the Queen or a monster and do different voices. It really helps.
      I’d love to listen to something that you have practiced.
      Happy reading
      Ellen

      Reply
      1. Kiara

        Hello Ellen
        I will try to make different voices.What are you doing in the school holidays because I am going on lots of play dates.
        from Kiara

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Hello Kiara, Practicing using different voices is fun I’m gad you’ll give it a go. I have an elderly mother who needs lots of care so I will help her out during the holidays and I also have a lot of gardening to do. I still have a lot of school work to get ready for term three and some marking too. But I hope to do some reading as well. Have a great break.
          Regards Ellen

          Reply
  15. harry

    Dear Ellen
    Thank you for caring about my grandma. I am sorry that I didn’t get my diary signed last week it is just because I was really sad. I love all the games that you have tort us this week. thank you for being the best teacher at the school even I do lots of plans they are all my problems. thank you for righting back to me.

    from harry Bibi

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Dear Harry,
      Sometimes it takes a while to get back into routine, lucky your team is there to remind you and so does your grandad. I know you have had a lot of plans and you clearly know what you can and should do. All you have to do now is to remember to think first. You’re getting better at it, we just want more of it. Oh dear teachers are never satisfied are they! Do you reckon you can? I know you can take control.
      Sounds like you family has lots of interesting things going on with your mum’s shop and everything. Do you get to help sometimes? What about the farm what do you do there?
      Warm regards Ellen

      Reply
  16. JORJA

    G’day Tyla,
    I love the way you read, you have great fluency and you understand the book very well, also you have improved since year 1. What is your best loved book? It might be a made up story or a learning story. Mine is Billy B Brown it is quite easy but it helps with my fluency. You can borrow one if you like. The story is about Billy but the B in each story stands for something different every time.

    Happy blogging
    love Jorja

    Reply
    1. max

      G’day Nelson,
      Yes I am how are you going with the story?. Did you know reading is very important. Their are lots of ACCR for you in the library on the shelves. What is your favourite book and why?. Did you know that reading can be very fascinating. You can read books about fiction and non fiction books. Are you enjoying the lion the witch and the wardrobe. I can tell you are a very good reader for your age. What is your favourite subject reading or spelling. How many minutes do you read a day. Do you read to your mum or to your dad or your self. Have you finished the PRC. What do you enjoy in reading?. At home do you read fiction or non fiction ?.
      What would you read more often fiction or non fiction?. What would you read more often would you read sea animals or land or jungle animals?. What do you read about and why?. Where is your favourite spot to read at home and the class?.

      Regards Max

      Reply
  17. shayla

    Bonjour Ellen,
    I like that you picked the book the BFG it was great and I like the Lion the witch and the wardrobe, they are both great books. I think my mum will take me to see he movie BFG because my mum Lisa does say that she will take my friend and I. Sometimes in the morning on tv they had a peek of the movie it is great but I don’t want to tell you all of it it would spoil it for you. Do you know if you are going to the movie the BFG ?
    warm regards
    Shayla .

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Shayla,
      I think I’ve already written to you about the BFG but did you know they made a film about the L W and T W too. That was a while ago and it was very exciting. I actually went to the place where the big battle takes place (oops spoiler alert). I’ tell you later after we read more. Can you imagine the characters this time. These authors use words really well don’t you think. MM now what will we read after this one? Decisions, decisions.
      Happy watching and reading
      Ellen

      Reply
      1. shayla

        Bonjour Ellen ,
        I loved the comment you posted. I would love to go see the movie the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe. Have you seen the movie the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe? Do you like to go to the beach? I do like to go to the beach because in summer it is nice because you can go in the water and cool down if you can swim.
        Warm regards Shayla.

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Greetings Shayla,
          yes I have seen the movie. In fact I thought that when we finish the book we might take a look at it and do som critical viewing on some of the characters. When I went to Nw Zealand I went to where they made that film and I have some shots of Peter and I climbing the great stone rocks. It was a lot of fun indeed. I love snorkelling so when the water is warm Peter and I go exploring. In fact we will be visiting a tropical island soon I have had my injections. I’ll talk more about it later. Hope your holidays are enjoyable and your Mum will soon be back with you. She can let you know all the exciting things she has done and seen.
          Cheers Ellen

          Reply
  18. james

    Hola Bella z,
    I think you have really improved on your vocabulary because you know a lot of new words. What is your favourite book? If you want to improve your fluency you could try reading easy books so you can get better at fluency.
    Regards James.

    Reply
  19. wil

    Hola Max,
    I can see you are improving with your reading can you make it to beyond \the top of the mountain can you pleas reply to me soon one day we should have a reading I reckon you will tie and then we will read novels and both get to beyond\the top of the mountain thanks for reading my comment,
    regards Wil

    Reply
  20. Nelson

    Hi Ellen,
    I really like the lion the witch and the wardrobe when we all finish in will there be another book
    and what will it be ?

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Nelson,
      I’m glad you are enjoying the next book it is quite exciting already. Yes there will be another book and I still haven’t decided which one I have a couple of possibilities. There was a film made of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe a few years ago do you think it would be a good idea to watch it when we finish? How is you home reading going? Do you think you’ll improve your acc score this term? Do you like a particular series?
      Happy reading
      Ellen

      Reply
  21. Ellen

    Dear Ty,
    I can see you have really worked on your reading skills. I particularly liked the way you tried to read with expression. Do you like pretending to be different characters? I thought playing the opposite gender is fun to do. Have you done a play before? If you could do another play what type would it be? Have you read the play to your family yet? Perhaps you could borrow a copy to show them.
    Happy reading Ellen

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Shayla,
      I thought it was too, given we had read the story it was a good idea to see what people thought the characters looked like. I’ve been seeing advertising on the sides of buses letting us know when the BFG is coming to movie theatres. Do you think your family will take you? I might have to convince my husband to come with me.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  22. JORJA

    Tolfa Jessica and Ruby I think your reading is fabulous I have heard you booth read. What is your favourite book my favourite is Tree house book’s.

    From Jorja

    Reply
    1. Ruby

      G’day Jorja,
      Thank you for the lovely comment,my favourite book is the folk of the faraway tree, have you ever read the book Jorja.

      farewell from Ruby.

      Reply
    2. Jessica

      G’day Jorja,
      Thank you for saying that I’m a good reader because I thought I was not doing enough reading. Well I don’t read the Tree House book’s but I read the Faraway Tree books. Well I like it more then the Tree house book. Why do you like the Tree House book so much? Why I like the Faraway Tree is because it has lots of lands like The land of Marvels. Jorja do you like reading?Well I like reading because I learn facts and new tales.
      from Jessica

      Reply
  23. harry

    Hallow ellen
    thank you for being the best teacher and teaching me and the class maths and chunking and subtraction and tacking us out for sport’s like beat up and 12 min run and I like much more thing’s but I can’t explain it all but if I need to do my spelling contract I like it.

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Harry,
      It’s good to hear you like the maths skills and strategies. The more you use them the easier they get to use. As you keep working the activities in the spelling contract they make much more sense too. I was sorry to hear about your Grandmother. I know you’ll always remember her. Good to hear you worked hard in the beep test. see your efforts in12 min run are paying off.
      Warm regards Ellen

      Reply
  24. Kiara

    Hello Ella
    I love it when you always play with me and not all by myself so thank you Ella so much and do you like reading because I do.
    from Kiara

    Reply
  25. shayla

    G’day Bella v
    Are you enjoying class blog with the reading posts. In corporate clump sometimes we have battles it is fun a funny. Do you know what your best score is in corporate clump? Mine is 6.2 we had a battle then.
    Regards Shayla.

    Reply
    1. BELLA v

      Hola Shayla
      Yes it is funny.I think i just got puffed out a little bit.My best score is 6.6 yours is still good but i just wish i got 8 pts what ever and you would want to get 8 to.On the blog i have just been giving comments to the teacher.But now i find replying to my friend is still good.How about the beep test what is your personal best mine is 6.5 close to 6.6.Ellen has made a weekly fitness program witch is 12 minute run and all the other stuff.But we have not done team run for a while i wonder why.I hope you have done lots of blogging to.You have been doing lots of neat work.We have been really good friends tell your mum to text mine tonight.Do you now that when you have no friends i will be their to play with you ok.You are a really kind girl your mum is pretty to.

      Cheers Bellav

      Reply
      1. shayla

        Hola Bella ,
        My mum text your mum and i will play with you one day.My best score in beap test is 6.2 yours is great i like runing with you it is fun i can’t wait for a play at my house or your house i will text you again. thankyou for saying my mum is pretty
        cheers Shayla.

        Reply
        1. BELLA v

          Dear Shayla,
          I can’t wait until a play date. We can go on music.ly it will be so fun!I might see you on Thursday the 14 of July for my birthday. What are you doing tonight?I know what we can go to boost juice.

          Cheer Bella

          Reply
  26. Jasmine

    To Ellen,
    When are we going to do Art because I love Art and my favourite number is eight and I love flower .

    from Jasmine

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Jasmine,
      I do like art too and usually we have it on Fridays. it’s been a while since we’ve done painting or colourful work as we have been taking our lines for walks. Perhaps we can do some art with flowers in the spring time. Would that be a good idea?
      Warm wishes Ellen

      Reply
      1. Jasmine

        To Ellen
        Yes Ellen that is a good idea and I love flowers.
        thank you for making us do Art.

        from Jasmine

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Howdy Jasmine,
          Thanks for your kind words. As we do not have health this week I think we can have an art lesson after lunch. Would you like that? Perhaps we can do some thinking of an activity. We haven’t painted for a while I think that would be good. How is your reading at home going? Now that you have you glasses are you finding the words easier to read? That was a great book that you shared with us. I hope you list to your note to self.
          Warm wishes
          Ellen

          Reply
  27. Pria

    Labadiena Ellen,
    I’m going to take more reading quizzes next term and this term. I know my reading is improving because I am now on level thirty! I can see everyone else is putting in a lot of effort too. I love reading!
    From Pria

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Pria,
      I was really amazed when I saw your score today, you certainly have put some effort in. good on you keep it coming. I agree the class is working hard indeed. what will you read next? I know you were reading all the time. now all we have to do is get your PRC finished. How can we do that?
      Happy reading. Ellen

      Reply
  28. james

    Apa Kabar Riley,
    Its a bit of a battle between me and you to get to the finish. Who will win?I hope I win! What is your favourate book?
    Regards James

    Reply
    1. Riley

      apa kapa James,
      I know it was a battle between use but I won because I got one hundred and thirteen and you got one hundred and ten my favourite book is Slugterra and the day my butt went psycho. I think you are a pretty good reader and I think you will win the battle this term I love reading a lot and I read for one hour every day but the book I really want is Slugterra books because I watch it on tv on channel abc3 and thats why I really like the book so thats why I have started collecting the series. I have other books that I like that is the day my butt went psycho and the BFG also pokemon and last of all Zac power so that why I have them at home and my dad yousely reads the BFG to me and I enjoy it because he makes funny voices when he talks the the giants and Sophie. But while I wait for my dad to come I read billion air boy or the books I borrowed from the library the accelerated reader so I actually like reading so thats why I read .How much do you like reading? why do you read? how much do you read? do you think we will do accelerated reader or not? what your favourite book? how much do you read your books?

      Reply
  29. BELLA v

    Hola Ellen,
    Our reading has gotten better.Reading the BFG was a fun book it was like i went on a adventure.Now we are reading the lion the witch and the wardrobe i am going on another little adventure.Are you having fun reading the books?

    Warm regards Bellav

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Howdy Bella,
      I agree our reading has indeed improved and that’s so great to see. It will be time to check reading tests again I’m sure we’ll all be successful. I do like The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe it gets very exciting soon. C S. Lewis writes very creatively don’t you think? Yes I always have fun reading aloud. I like to get into characters and play with voices. do you do that whe7 you read?
      Warm wishes Ellen

      Reply
  30. jack

    Hi Ellen
    if you didn’t know I love accelerated reader and I love doing the qizz I will fell great when I get to 100 percent but I am a bit up set that Hamish beat me geting to 100 cheers Jack

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      G’day Jack,
      I know you do indeed love accelerated reading as you are very enthusiastic about taking quizzes. I also think the little competition you had with Hamish was interesting to watch and even though he managed to beat you this time next tern it’s on again. Surely by now you would have finished the Premier’s reading challenge with all you books. Happy reading Jack, never stop.
      Warm wishes Ellen

      Reply
      1. jack

        Knichawar Ellen
        You are rite about me loveing asellrated reader quizzes that make me feel great. I only have one more to go I have lots of pressor on me. I am now reading The second book of the noms by Tery prachet I read it with my mum.
        worm regards Jack

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Hola Jack,
          Why are you putting pressure on yourself? I think its good to have a goal and work hard to achieve it but you need to be sensible too. The good thing about accelerated reading is you get to see that your reading skills are working and your hard work is paying off. So keep up the effort. What series will yo read when that one is over? What about some of Roal Dahl’s books.
          Happy Reading
          Ellen

          Reply
          1. Lyn

            Good day Ellen,
            in your comment about me reading some Roal Dahl books, I’ve read all of them! Can you suggest other books?
            Love Jack.

          2. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

            Hello Jack,
            I’m sure you had a great time reading all Roal’s books, he is such an entertaining author don’t you think? Which of them do you want to reread? Well, if you are liking the current book by C S Lewis remember this is the second of many adventures in Narnia. So perhaps you might like to read that series. Now when I was in grade three I read Charlotte’s web and I adored that book, it does get a little sad though be warned! There is a series that is very horrible Ne gruesome and lots of miserable stuff happens, but it’s very entertaining. I can point them out to you if you like, we read five of them last year. The class couldn’t get enough of them. there are 13 books in the series. I’m sure you’ll find something.
            Best of luck deciding
            Ellen

  31. Kiara

    Hola Ellen
    I really like the blog of our supper readers i hope I am going to be on level 24 because you get to read more books and I love to read books I think I just need to read more and do you love to read?
    from Kiara

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Kiara,
      I’glad you are wanting to improve your reading. I think there is a good chance you will move to level 24 of course you need to be able to show me you understand the text and you read fluently. Have you been practicing answering questions with your family while, during and after you are reading? That will really help. I do love to read. I think it lets you explore many fabulous worlds of adventure that maybe I might not get to but I can join as I read. Happy reading Kiara.
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
      1. Kiara

        Hi Ellen
        yes I do think I will move up to level 24 yes you are right I will have a chance that I will move up to level 24 and yes I will ask my mum when I finish reading my book if she could ask me some questions and I will keep practicing my reading and I like it when you read to the class because you always use expression.
        from Kiara

        Reply
        1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

          Hi Kiara,
          That’s good to hear. I think it will be fun to do the play. I hope everyone learns their words. If you are fluent Then maybe the rest of the class can watch too. I’m glad you like the expression I use and it just takes lots of practice reading out aloud.
          Happy reading Regards Ellen

          Reply
  32. Lyn

    I have finally had a look at the blog (thanks to Jack’s persistence)! It looks fantastic and I am very impressed with everyone’s work.

    The “Erik the Viking” book Jack and I are reading is by Terry Jones, who is part of the old comedy team “Monty Python”. Terry Jones is very interested in Viking history and Norse legends. The stories in “Erik” are fantasy, but very exciting!

    Good luck everyone with your reading and I look forward to seeing your blog more often.

    Best wishes – Lyn (Jack’s Mum)

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Gothan dag Lyn,
      That’s Viking for Good day, nice to know Jack’s persistence paid off and you are one of our readers. Wow a Monty Python fan too, I hope, or is it just a coincidence. I’ve seen quite a lot of Terry Jones’ documentaries on English history and he just can’t help himself by including humor. It does help lighten up some serious stuff. Still I’m sure there are elements of historical fact in his stories. We’re about to enter the world of Narnia, I thought another Classic wouldn’t hurt our repertoire.
      I’m glad you like what we’ve included so far, we’ve some science to include and some more maths for this term, which is rapidly closing, unbelievable. I guess having a student teacher took more out of theorem thanI had anticipated.
      Hear from you again.
      warm wishes Ellen.

      Reply
      1. Lyn

        Thank you for your reply! It has taken me this long for Jack to show me how to respond to your reply…sigh…I am not so computer literate!

        Yes, I am of the Monty Python era and love their work. I also love the Narnia series. They are magical and exciting stories which can sweep you away.

        Jack and I are enjoying reading Terry Pratchett’s ‘Diggers’ 2nd Book of Nomes. There is a lot in his stories for both children and adults and he is a very clever and imaginative writer.

        Jack and I hope you have relaxing holidays when you get to them and you stay warm.

        All the best – Lyn (…and Jack!)

        Reply
  33. jack

    Hi Ellen I just wonted to tell you you are the best Ellen and my mum reads to me Erik the viking by Ellen

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Viking Jack,
      I didn’t know I wrote a book about vikings, only kidding. That sounds fascinating. Is it a narrative or historical book? I’ve seen some of the traditional long boats vikings carved in olden times and I admire their designs quite a lot. It must have been very exciting and scary crossing the oceans in those vessels. What have you learned from the book? Do you have any questions about viking life? I do like the norse stories too.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  34. Ellen

    Konichiwa Maggie,
    You obviously have a lot of great reading modelling in your household, no wonder you are a switched on reader. As your reading skills strengthen you get a chance to read anything that takes your curiosity. I must Say that while I do love fantasy books I also like to know more about science ideas and I don’t always have experts to talk to, so a great book can give me the information that I need. It’s great to know you red to your siblings. My favourite memories are reading with my big brother and trying to read his readers. I remember one particular Sunday morning picking up his book and having a go myself reading about a duck and the cold north wind. my older sister was annoyed because I could read it and she wasn’t able to yet! I knew then that reading wasn’t that hard and it just took practise. happy reading this long weekend Maggie.
    Warm regards Ellen

    Reply
  35. Maggie

    Apa Kabar Ellen,
    I think I’m reading very well.I know my reading is improving because
    my accelarated readers level is going higher, I’m reading thicker books, in my reading book, on my chart, my score is going up and I’m always practising. The strategy I’m currently using is chunking the words I can’t pronounce and I am using this because it will build my vocab and not only that but it will also make it easier. I love reading Andy Griffith’s books [they are all illustrated by Terry Denton]. Every one in my house reads except my little sister who is only three. My mum reads magazines and some times she reads to my little brother and sister [Charlie and Katie]. My dad reads books and instruction manuals, my brother reads his readers from his school, and some times he tries to read Dr Suess’s books. I will read anything thats there.
    From Maggie.

    Reply
    1. Ellen

      Hello Pria,
      I must say I am very impressed by the change in your accelerated reading this term. I knew you were a great reader and now you have proved it. Well done for choosing accelerated books and taking those quizzes. Do you like reading? What are your favourite books? I like fantasy books. At the moment I am reading a great series that my husband recommended, but since we are school time I only get a little bit of time to read, so I can’t wait for the holidays to finish the book. Do you have many books at home? Who does read at your place. My husband reads a lot almost every day, I can’t keep up with him, but then he is not a teacher so he doesn’t have lots of home work like I do.
      Happy Reading Pria
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
    2. Ellen

      Hi Maggie,
      I’m sorry I haven’t replied to this, I thought I had. Anyway I know you have improved in your reading as your last star reading test shows bravo you little book worm you! Clearly there are lots of great reading modelling going on at your home. I reckon your little sister will become just as good as you too. So do you think you’ll see the BFG when the movie is released? What do you think it will be like? I hope they make the giants really ugly and scary as Roal Dahl wrote them. I wonder what he would have thought if he could see the move.
      Warm wishes
      Ellen

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *