Hi
April 30

Is your child’s screen time excessive?

 

computerkidLast term students in Ms Wilson’s grade six class began asking some interesting questions after having listened to some startling statistics on how much time children spent in front of electronic screens. I believe it hinted at being quite excessive. This created much discussion in their class, which then led to the need to begin an investigation. They needed volunteers so we helped out.

Two year six students, Billie and Finlay, needed answers to find out if indeed what they heard was true. As part of their Mathematics investigations they designed some questions to ask a sample of our year three students. From these answers Billie and Finlay collated the responses and analysed their findings. This survey took a week.

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 4.03.39 PM

Screen Shot 2016-04-30 at 4.06.18 PM

You can read their full research and analysis here.

Year 6 survey results

In summary they found the boys were over the recommended screen time and the girls were under. They acknowledge the group was small, but were surprised at the amount of time the boys put into playing computer games. Billie and Finlay also came up with some alternate activities.

Interestingly enough as I was thinking about collating this post I came across a Behind the News survey on the ABC written by BTN reporter Amelia Moseley which pretty much repeated Ms Wilson’s students research, although their sample size was a lot larger 18,000 young Australians.

fdaff83ef4c4cce5653a63479d6a75ac

They found 3 in 5 children spend more time in front of a screen than recommended by national guidelines.  National guidelines recommend two to five year olds no more than one hour of screen time, five to eighteen year olds no more than two hours a day.

The study did find the same trend in that boys were clocking up more time on technology 4.2hrs compared to  girls 3.7.hrs. They also noted that technology usage increased with age.

 

Kids with tablet

Kids with tablet

One in four people surveyed would find it impossible to go without technology for a week, while 15% couldn’t go without for  day.

computers12

Playing games, watching movies and watching TV or online videos topped the list. Others said they were doing homework, but nearly the same amount was using their time for social media.

Somethings to think about.

Do you agree with the results?

What is your favourite device to use?

How much time do you spend using your device? What are you doing on your device?

Tags: , ,

Posted April 30, 2016 by elleneisenkolb15 in category Health, Literacy, Maths/Numeracy, Science, Technology

18 thoughts on “Is your child’s screen time excessive?

  1. Pria

    Hodz vodz Ellen,
    My favourite device is an iPad, our family has two! One is my Mummy’s and one is my Daddy’s, it’s fun playing on technology, as long as we don’t go over the time limit. What is your favourite device? An iPad, computer, TV, or phone?

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Pria,
      Wow your family keeps up with technology. It’s great that you have some time to build your technology skills too and i like that your family has rules for using them. Well I too love to use my iPad as you know I did buy the bigger one. I find that useful at night to read an do my emails and answer blog comments. But I much prefer to work on my big computer at home. At school of course I need to use the lap top and I do take it home sometimes. So I guess I use a variety of technologies, but strangely do not own a mobile phone. Lots of people ask me how I cope and I cope just fine. I prefer to talk to people face to face.
      Keep using the technology to stay in touch while I’m away.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  2. Riley

    Apa capa Max
    I know that you are the type of guy that loves technology and how long have you bean on it in your life cycle? and how can you afford the games on your iPad?

    Farewell Riley

    Reply
  3. Baylee

    Dear Senija,
    thank you for being the best teacher ever I hope we can spend some time in the yard one day because I’ve had a really great time with you I hope we can be friends love from Baylee.

    Reply
  4. Bella v

    Hola Ellen,

    I have been practicing my measurement I know lots now when we go back to school i will be good at measurement.I am proud of myself and thank you for testing me I put my expression in my reading .I just was on study ladder and i have got a lots of coins i forgot how much i had but i got so much correct.And i hope that i am about on 10% by the end of the term.I am ready to take a quiz on Monday the 30th of May i am super at Acelarrerater reader and it will be my 5th test.

    Warm regards Isabella V

    Reply
  5. Bella v

    Hola Ellen,
    My fav music is l Love my life how bout yours Ellen do listen to any musics or when you go to bed
    Regards Bella v

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Bella,
      I’m not familiar with that tune. I guess it’s because I don’t listen to the radio at all. At boot camp I always have to ask my friends what the tune is or had I heard it before. But I do like a lot of music. As you know I adore Wierd Al’s songs I think he’s very clever. I read before bed or learn a language I leave music for when I’m cooking or cleaning. But tonight I did watch Eurovision as I Really love the way they try to out do each other. Have you seen that competition?
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  6. BELLA v

    Hello Ellen,
    Ok well my favourite device is iPod and iPad but my mum would only let me spend 10 or 5 mins only my brothers don’t listen which is bad.I go on safari to type our things we are learning.

    Regards Bella v.

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Bella,
      sounds like it would be a struggle to get time but I guess it’s only fair to share with lots of siblings. What type of music do you prefer? Good to know you like researching. Do you have other interests?
      Regards Ellen

      Reply
  7. Maggie

    Comment c’va Jessica,
    my favourite device to use is my computer then my mums phone. I wish I could have my own!
    what is yours?
    From Maggie

    Reply
    1. Jessica

      G’day
      Maggie,
      My favorite device is a ipad but I don’t have my own one.
      I don’t know why my mum won’t let have one.
      My mums favorite device is a TV.
      What is mums favorite device?

      From Jessica

      Reply
      1. Maggie

        Aloha Jessica,
        I think my mum’s favourite is her phone too! I didn’t think about an iPad. Probably it would be my second favourite or first. I can’t decide between a tv or my mum’s phone or now that I’ve thought about it [and since you’ve brung it up] an iPad! What do you think? [I will think about it too, but two heads are better than one!].
        From Maggie

        Reply
        1. Jessica

          G’day Maggie
          I think your right because we have different thoughts.
          I think a TV is a good thing to use because you can learn facts from it. Why do you like TVs so much? I like TVs so much because you can use it so much.
          From Jessica

          Reply
  8. Ellen

    Dear Class,
    We have had our blog running for some time now. At this stage there are a few children who are brave enough to leave a comment. It is about time we all began to think about writing thoughtful comments. We have had a look at Mrs Hollis’ class, so now we have a good idea of what we can do. I am looking forward to reading your comments and seeing how accurate you can be. Happy Blogging.

    Regards Ellen

    Reply
  9. Riley

    Dear Harry,
    do you do any thing on technology or do you even have any thing like xbox playstation iPad
    how much do you like soccer or what is your favourite sport how much do you play every day on technology.

    Reply
  10. jack

    Hi Ellen
    I love the the post I totally agree with the second question hope you waiting commits for the blog bi jack .

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Jack,
      It’s always a good idea to tell me which question you are answering by giving me some detail. I don’t know which second question you are referring to. Yes I am looking forward to the comments well done for yours.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
  11. finlay

    Hi Maggie,
    well done for getting to 70% on accelerated reader your getting very close to 100%.
    How long do you think till you achieve your target.
    Keep it up.

    Warm regards Finlay

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *