Hi
October 30

Reading, a life long skill.

6

We are really proud of the work we have put into developing our reading strategies this year. We have been working very hard to build excellence in our reading. I am proud of you. During literacy block, reading has been an important focus in our activities. Early on we looked closely at what good readers do. Mrs Godfrey worked with us to make chart that we could look back on and remind ourselves what we should be doing when we read.

DSC08314 - Version 2

la_fluency

So that we could build stamina in our reading, we needed time to read. Finding a comfortable spot, working on our stickability and be respectful of others need for quiet were all important factors to consider.

Once we had our stamina ticking along nicely and challenged ourselves to keep building more it was time to build efficient reading strategies.

We looked closely at what we would do before we read…

  • activate our prior knowledge
  • know why we were reading this particular text
  • make predictions
  • know how to ask questions

la_reading

 

Then during reading we focussed on..

  • constructing meaning
  • checking we understood the text
  • looked at our predictions
  • learnt a lot of different ways to work out tricky words
  • made connections with ideas in the text
  • learnt how to infer the hidden meaning, reading between the lines

 

reading_icon

Then after reading

  • we learnt how to evaluate texts
  • went back to check predictions and questions again
  • learnt how to summarise important facts
  • worked out how to synthesise and bring together all that we learnt

 

la_expository

 

How good were we at getting all our Premier’s Reading Challenge completed  by term two! Fabulous effort.

As most of us have set clear targets for our accelerated reading, these strategies have helped us become very successful in reading. Last term many of our super readers managed to zoom past their target and beyond. Poor Mr Grant’s hand was sore from signing all those great reading certificates too.

DSC08572

This term we have made a fabulous start, with lots more than a third of the way. Bravo Super Readers there’s nothing stopping you now. Now you and I know that you need to read at least 30 minutes a night, right. Of course there’s lots who read more, you wonderful little book worms you.

 

I found this letter which might be an interesting thing to think about the next time you skip a reading session or perhaps regularly miss them…. mm. Read on.

 

Why Can’t I Skip My
Twenty Minutes of Reading Tonight?
(Source Unknown)


Let’s figure it out — mathematically!

Student A reads 20 minutes five nights of every week;
Student B reads only 4 minutes a night…or not at all!

Step 1: Multiply minutes a night x 5 times each week.
Student A reads 20 min. x 5 times a week = 100 mins./week
Student B reads 4 minutes x 5 times a week = 20 minutes

Step 2: Multiply minutes a week x 4 weeks each month.
Student A reads 400 minutes a month.
Student B reads 80 minutes a month.

Step 3: Multiply minutes a month x 9 months/school year
Student A reads 3600 min. in a school year.
Student B reads 720 min. in a school year.

Student A practices reading the equivalent of ten whole school days a year. Student B gets the equivalent of only two school days of reading practice.

By the end of 6th grade if Student A and Student B maintain
these same reading habits,  Student A will have read the equivalent of 60 whole school days Student B will have read the equivalent of only 12 school days.

One would expect the gap of information retained will have widened considerably and so, undoubtedly, will school performance. How do you think Student B will feel about him/herself as a student?

Some questions to ponder:

Which student would you expect to read better?
Which student would you expect to know more?
Which student would you expect to write better?
Which student would you expect to have a better vocabulary?
Which student would you expect to be more successful in school….and in life?

 

Now that does make you think a little doesn’t it.

Letter courtesy of Ms Marley Sanchez

Some other things to think about.

Where is your favourite place to read?

Do you have a favourite author?

What types of reading takes place in your homes and who does it?

 

Tags: , , ,

Posted October 30, 2015 by elleneisenkolb15 in category Integrated Tasks, Literacy, Team work

17 thoughts on “Reading, a life long skill.

  1. Emilia

    Hodz Vodz Ellen,:)

    I am getting so excited about TAA even though i’ve already read it!
    I think the whole class will either love it or get terrified of it.
    I love the new characters but of what we read so far i think the other kids might be excited

    Do you think that things will get more unfortunate?
    Or will they stay good?

    Kind Regards Emilia!:)

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Konichiwa Emilia,
      Well I’ve had a sneak read during library time and like you I am getting excited Emilia. I haven’t met too many new characters yet only one particularly nasty one who shouldn’t be. I agree the class may be terrified. Still it is a great read and I’m sure we’ll get through most before the end of the year. Do you think you will read the complete series? You talk to Indi she has got a great plan working with a second hand shop to get copies of the book.
      Happy reading terrifying books
      Warm wishes
      Ellen

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Hodz vodz Emilia and Alicia,
    Thankyou from both of you, Emilia I just moved up to level 28,and both of you, you have been improving your comments as well you should be so amazed that your comments are also detailed and lots of punctuation. Alicia I think you would get beyond if you try really hard and just keep reading and that’s also for you Emilia. For reading you guys try really hard and get 10/10 or 5/5 so you should be proud, what do you think you need to work on and what you are good at? You are on high levels and you work really well I just wonder what you guys are on Alicia are you on 50% or is it 60%.Emilia are you the same as Alicia or is it different what do you think about everyone elses comments are they like the same as me or different, are you impressed with your comment or would you try and to do something different I suggest that you don’t need to change anything, hope you do good with reading.

    Warm regards Ella

    Reply
  3. Emilia

    Congratulations Ella,
    I am so surprised you are improving so much in your commenting this term!
    You have done a great job of adding the correct punctuation Way to go!

    Also I’ve been wondering what reading level are you up to?
    Must be a very high one to be writing these fabulous comments!
    Way To Go Ella!

    Regards Emilia 🙂

    Reply
  4. Steven

    Hello Sergio
    on the reading what level are you on because when you get to beyond then i will want to know how many times you have been on it from the first term to now.Because you are a good reader thats why you read the thick books that give you a lot of points.Remember the book i have that you wanted well next week i will return it an i can give it to you but the book has about one or two to three sentences it is really quick but it has ten points and a lot of pages.The book is now to you
    regards steven

    Reply
  5. Ella

    Yak sher mash Ellen
    What are you thinking is going to happen for the super heros for reading? because I think most people are going to get past half way.I feel proud because I’m already up to 70% and that what I was last term and it’s not half way through the term.I’ve been challenging myself for reading and I’m reading books that give more then half a point.I got a head start at the start of the term because that book what I was reading in the school holidays gave me 4 points and for the book I got 8/10.I think I need to work on my compression so that’s my goal.I can’t wait when you are going to test me last time I read a level 26 because you had no level 25 so you said that next time you need to test me on that.Has anyone been really good with reading because I think every one good just they need to work on at least something like me with my comprehension.I love reading i sometimes read on the weekend always reads on the school days so yeah I like reading but I most of all like reading the boadalairs, I can’t believe that some people don’t like reading it’s fine but I just can’t believe it.Does this sound unusual that I want more homework because I think we don’t get enough homework, I can’t wait to be in year 4 because then I will get more homework now yippee but unfortunatley I will miss the class we had so much fun together at least I will get to have a little group in our class so that’s good but I won’t have everyone
    Ciao Ella

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Ti Kanis,
      Ella I was blown away with your fabulous comment, you are so very thoughtful indeed. Actually I had planned on doing a running record with you today but you were blogging, and it could wait. I know you are excited to see your super hero fly. What about we sneak a little look tomorrow if you get in before the others! I do like the way you have some determined goals for reading. I think once you get your vocal and fluency under control as you are doing the comprehension seems to work itself out because you can use your expression to help understand the text better. Well that work for me. Like you, I love reading and so does most of my family, but yes there are people who don’t and it happens. The sad part is that reading is such a valuable skill, so to miss out on all the wonderful worlds in books or the loads of information is tragic. I’m not fond of sport and I guess some people would say I miss out on that. We are all different and like different things and that is ok.
      Year 4 will be exciting and I won’t be too far away, so you can visit me and tell me all about your new adventures. You will have to wait and see who will be together and who will not. Now I have to get ready for some boxing as it’s rainy I think our class will be in the gym.
      Best regards
      Ellen

      Reply
    2. Alicia

      Ti Kanis Ella
      I thought that your comment was outstanding the blog would be a lot better if everyone wrote comments like you did Ella. I think that people’s super heroes will get past 50% if they try really hard this term. But it will be a challenge because we have 9 weeks and the library is closed for the last 2 weeks, but I’m sure that you will.

      Kind Regards
      Alicia

      Reply
  6. Ella

    Hi Tia
    The glasses are the same as Kate’s old ones, but I still like my other ones better than these ones. I really miss them because we really had so much fun with them, I heard that my glasses said ”I miss you I want to go back on your head.” The new glasses annoy me when it’s hot because I get really sweaty on my nose. You might not want to wear glasses because it just looks the same as what you see, so you wear glasses like me when you need them. I don’t like when I have to go to the eye doctor because I normally have to have eye drops. The eye drops make the pupils go really big and I can’t see.

    Regards Ella

    Reply
  7. Ella

    Bonjour Ellen
    I,Ve got my new glasses today so you will see me wearing New glasses tomorrow.I got really angry because they kept on slipping off.

    I’m past my target for reading and my flower is done so I think I might be at beyond also has anyone else almost finished there flower.

    At sports day I was in the champion sprints and I put loads of effort in the race and I came first,it was really fun for sports day because we did the whole day.

    I hope your voice is better and that it doesn’t happen again,we don’t want your voice to break then you can’t come to school.

    Hope you have a good week from Ella

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Ella,
      I would love to see you in you new glasses. It always takes me a little while to get used to new ones too. You have been working hard on your reading, congratulations you little book worm. My voice is a lot better than last week, still a little scratchy, but as long as I rest it, it should recover. Teachers need their voices a lot, so my voice is precious to me. I don’t think I can work without it. Have you ever lost yours?
      Your family might think that would be a good thing…or?
      Best wishes Ellen.

      Reply
    2. Tia

      Hi Ella
      Do your new glasses look good? What colour are they? I’m always trying to find out what it would be like having glasses. Do you like having glasses or not so much?

      Reply
  8. Kate

    Hello Ellen,
    reading is fun. I played typing test I quite liked it I nearly doubled my typing speed like it said! My favourite place to read is in my bed because it is soft and comfortable. My favourite author would be Roald Dahl I love his amazing books and that he is so creative. What is the fifth Bodalair book called and will we get time to read it? I hope we do because I love the amazing books. At sports day I ran in the hay bale because the captains told me I had to. I got a third ribbon in hay bale and came about fifth in sprints. I had lot’s of fun and I wish you were there.
    From Kate.

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Greetings Kate,
      I would have guessed you love reading, you have had lots of practice no wonder you’re so good at it. Like you, I too love reading in bed, but I also like reading out on my deck when the weather is warmer. When it’s cold, I like to be by the fire sitting on a nice comfortable chair with a rug and a hot cup of tea. Unfortunately as I am so busy during term time, I have to wait for my holidays to do some recreational reading. Of course I’m always reading your work.

      Good to hear you went well on the hay bales, sounds like you did our class proud. Good for you Kate. I was disappointed to miss the day, but my voice is still a little croaky so it was a good idea I didn’t strain it anymore. Look on the bright side, (as Phil would say) I completed all the marking I took home, yay.

      The fifth book by Lemony Snickets is The Austere Academy which is a great read too. Perhaps we could get it in it would be a stretch though! I hope you have an enjoyable weekend Kate, perhaps you’ll find time to read too.
      Warm wishes Ellen.

      Reply
  9. Ella

    To Ellen
    I have been reading better this term I hope I’m going to get to
    beyond I will have to try hard because this term is shorter then
    the others what do people think there going to get when it’s the
    end of the term .
    By Ella

    Reply
    1. elleneisenkolb15 (Post author)

      Hello Ella,
      You were quick to respond I only just put the post up. You have been reading very well indeed. Now that you are, the shorter term shouldn’t be much of a problem. Have you got your new glasses yet? I bet they look cool. Now what can you do, so they don’t get broken again, Huh?
      How did you go in games day? I haven’t said a word all day, so my voice has been well and truly rested. I trust the croaks have packed their little bags and gone away!
      Have a great weekend.
      Cheers Ellen

      Reply
    2. Tia

      Hi Ella
      I think I will finish my goal because I’m working very hard to keep reading ever night. I think that student A would know more and student B feel a bit disappointed in its self because if you don’t try hard you will never get better. I do a lot of reading in my bed like Kate but my mum also reads when she is cooking because she follows a recipe. My sister has to read two hundred minutes a week so she reads a lot. my favourite author is Louis Sachar because he writes really good books. I think reading is a life long skill as well because even if you are a chiropractor or a paediatrist you always need to read!

      Regards Tia

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *